Backup strategy for Seafile CE

I have been running Seafile for 2 years now. Until now I have backed up the full virtual machine (Hyper-V) to keep the data safe.

I have another server to backup now, where the server is running on bare metall instead of VM.
This is my thoughts so far:

• Stop Seafile
  • Backup MySQL to another server
  • Backup Seafile DATA-folder to another server using Rsync to minimize data-transfer and keep a second identical copy.
  • Start Seafile

This gives me no backup-history, which I would like to have…

I have some ideas… Storing the copy on a ZFS volume with snapshots. It can give me the history feature, but it will require a ZFS pool-setup.

How are you dealing with this? Please advice me! :slight_smile:
Thanks!

//Sam

1 Like

Ping! Any thoughts?.. :slight_smile:

Hi

There are many options and missing information :slight_smile:

What amount of data are we talking about ?
What connection do u have between the Seafile server and the remote backup server ?
… backup history … how many days/weeks/… ?
What kind of backup storage do you have (filesystem, amount of storage,…) ?

Rsync full backups and/or Rsnapshot are, without any fancy storage backend (ZFS, Ceph,…), the only practical solution i can think of. If you have e.g. FreeNAS as backup storage, the deduplication/compression would help to keep the amount of data low.

Michael

1 Like

Well at the moment i live with full backups of virtual disk on which seafile data resides. It means i lose history of few months, if server goes down, for home its ok.

I already have a plan on how to do proper daily LIVE incremental backups, but am to lazy to do it. I would use btrfs, since it uses WAY less resources than ZFS and is stable enough for most features(RAID56 is not stable yet for example, but normal raids and snapshots are stable).