Best way to backup seafile docker installation?

Hey guys, I have a seafile docker container running on my ubuntu server and I am pretty satisfied so far. Now I want to have a backup strategy using my second server. I am pretty new to linux servers and especially docker.

I also got a custom data directory on a secondary hard drive by altering the launcher file. I am already backing up this data directory using rsync but from what I understand this is pretty useless without the mysql data. Normally I would perform a mysql dump but with docker this seems to be pretty tough.

So, whats your backup strategy for seafile docker?

So far I can only think of these ways:

1. Make an image backup of both drives - seems pretty risky as both of them are running

2. rsync the whole file system of both drives to the remote server - basically creating a copy of the server

3. log in to the docker container creating a mysql dump and getting it to my remote server somehow - must be an easier way

4. Using one of the ways descibed on the docker website: https://docs.docker.com/engine/tutorials/dockervolumes/#backup-restore-or-migrate-data-volumes - to be honest, I think i need some help there…:wink:

5. using a tool like docker-backup or conplicity - any experiences here?

thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Is it possible that by moving the data folder to the secondary drive, I also moved the docker volumes (db etc.) there? So my rsync strategy isnt that insufficent at all…

inspecting the docker volumes of the seafile container shows this:

[
    {
        "Destination": "/shared",
        "Mode": "",
        "Propagation": "",
        "RW": true,
        "Source": "/media/seafile-data",
        "Type": "bind"
    },
    {
        "Destination": "/var/lib/mysql",
        "Source": "/media/seafile-data/db",
    },
    {
        "Destination": "/var/log",
        "Source": "/media/seafile-data/logs/var-log",
    },
    {
        "Destination": "/root/.bash_history",