Brutally honest feedback about Seafile and the current fiasco

Dear Daniel and Jonathan, (only you two are listed in the About page)

Unlike others, I’d like to comment on the current state of things. I’m a paying Pro customer and I actually wish to support you, but I feel some things must change dramatically if you are to actually get out of this alive, and potentially succeed in the future. The following may sound a little blunt (too little time), apologies in advance.

I had purchased my license in early January from seafile.com – as the order confirmation email subject and images inside it clearly say – but all the emails were signed by Seafile Gmbh and the download links were all from the .de domain. From the very beginning it all felt very amateurish and fuzzy. Two apparent companies, gazzilion download places, open source code, closed code, multiple github repos, borderline rude replies from what appeared to be team/support members (i think mostly german ones, daniel and johnathan were ok, but it’s the general perception regarding a product that’s affected), untested fixes deployed, shady documentation, broken scripts, etc. This would be fine for a community project, but not when charging a fee. Right now I am asked to register when trying to download the Pro version from the link I received in the email…

Your .com website could be much more professional. For example, there is no clear contact section (it’s hidden under About with an obscure email icon - one may think that you don’t want to be contacted); or support section for customers; or download section for the Pro version. The blog with actual news is hidden away. Some past attempts to get support for problems received delayed or no replies, or was asked to post in github, sometimes I had to resort to forums where some attitudes were rather abrupt (possibly german, I don’t know, but I shouldn’t care).