Can i use seafile to backup my phone - Android

Hi everyone,
i am new to seafile, and so far it looks like a great software.
but it looks like i can only sync photos using the android app?
am i missing something?i would like to automatically sync other folders.

At the moment the android app is not able to sync directories like the desktop client.

I work around this lack of functionality by using the WebDAV extension of seafile and FolderSync.

HTH!

2 Likes

Thanks for this, as I already use FolderSync.

Does the extension allow us to write to an encrypted library?

Thanks in advance

At the moment this is not supported. Sorry.

Thats a shame, as we can’t write to an encrypted library in the official android app either.

Pity, as it makes the whole workflow a little pointless without it.

Technically it is NOT possible to securely implement it for WebDAV. One should not even use the webinterface if data is that important / confident.

Afaik the encrypted libraries have been natively integrated in the Android app.

Ok fair enough thanks.

Encrypted libraries are not implemented in the android app at all, thats the reason to seek the functionality elsewhere.

I cannot seem to find out if its a bug in the android app, or uploading to encrypted libraries was never implemented.

I ended up uninstalling my seafile server…seems like such a basic feature to add folder backup from android.
going to try syncthing

Tried it and it doesn’t support client side encryption, so still has the same issue.

This is wrong. The app supports client side encryption.

1 Like

Then it doesn’t work.

Bug also posted;

https://github.com/haiwen/seadroid/issues/623

You wrote multiple times encrpyted libraries have not been implemented in the android app which is wrong.

It is not possible to upload photos to them using the photo upload (or doing other automatic stuff), though.