Downloading a library - syncs for a few seconds, then stops, repeat. Occasional halt

First, I want to say I have very little knowledge of the Linux operating system. I come from a background in working with Windows computers.

I am trying to figure out why my server keeps syncing for a few seconds, stops, then repeat, over and over again. Every once in a while, my windows client will notify me it saying a few files were updated. Occasionally server will completely stop responding. Clients will cease to sync and the webpage will not load, eventually returning error 523 (Origin is unreachable.) This happens when I try to connect externally or internally.

Server:
Running under a VirtualBox VM with 4 cores and 2gb of ram (appears to only be using a little over half of available ram and about or less than 30% cpu usage at any give).
Ubuntu Desktop 14.04 (converted into server) Tut
Https enforcement was turned off because it didn’t play nice with cloudflare’s flexible ssl (infinite redirect loops). I just had to fumble around the nginx seafile.conf until I got it. Basically I move the bind 80 to the other server and disables the server I moved it from.

As I was writing this, the client just gave me a message saying “Unspecified Fatal Error encountered, aborting.”

Below are client logs. I just spend about an hours searching how to obtain server logs. I know where they are located but I cannot figure out how to scp into my server to obtain them. It says connection refused.

https://github.com/BetaLeaf/FileStorage/releases/download/14/Client.Logs.zip

Edit: Looked at some server logs. This line keeps repeating in seafile.log and it appears to match up with the stops mentioned above.

http-server.c(1653): Failed to allocate 0 bytes of memeory.

(yes there is actually a typo in the error message.)

Why don’t you install a Ubuntu Server image ?