Raspberry Pi - sharing existing EXT4 directory on hard drive?

Hi all - I am totally new to SeaFile and I am not completely sure if it fits what I’m trying to do …

I have a hard drive that I would like to use as both in-house and internet-accessible storage, upload and download. It already has several files on it that I would like to access from the road (program installers, for the most part). I have created folders ON the drive to be able to drop files into it from the web, but the SeaFile server acts as if only those folders are on the drive.

Using OpenMediaVault as the underlying OS, which is how I know the files are there. I can navigate into other directories using SMB protocol on my in-house network. When I leave, however, I’d like to also be able to access the SneakerNet program installer folder without actually having to make a duplicate copy, especially if I want to use it as a long term solution.

I know the Pro version of SeaFile will allow me to alias or reference the folder(s) using a .sh command, but I am running on a Raspberry Pi and the .sh file from the Pro version is not in the SeaFile directory. Is there a tool or command I can use? Or how can I solve this issue using existing hardware and software?

Thanks very much.

I’m using a Banana PI (same hardware as the raspberry) to do basically what you are trying to.

The thing you must know is that the Seafile server (the PI) doesn’t store files like a smb folder, but it split them into little pieces, stored in a database.

So basically you need to set up the server, then set up a client to “fill” the server with those file you want. They will be stored in the database of the server. Those files can’t be found exploring the server, you’ll need to access them with a client, that could be the web browser, a seafile client (Win, Mac, Ios, Android, Linux, CLI) or seadrive.

Of course, you’ll need to setup properly the webaccess forwarding ports in your router(s).

Differences as far as I know: