Various issues after 2 years. Users or software?

First off, a warm “Thank You” to everyone involved with making a really good alternative to the other popular cloud storage services out there. I have been using Seafile now for a couple of years and up until recently have had little to no issues. Before Jan '17 we had 5 or 6 users and then, almost overnight, we have 15 users and over half of them are syncing on 2 or more devices. Lately some issues have caused us to look at alternatives. Here is what I am experiencing:

Some clients just quit syncing
Sometimes when moving/combining folders, after a minute or two it just reverts back canceling the work you just spent in restructuring files.
Sometimes when deleting files/folders they come right back after 10 minutes or so.
Constant conflict issues.

Any help in fixing these issues would be greatly appreciated. Please let me know if any logs or files need to be submitted.

What is the server backend?

I/O or RAM could be the bottleneck.

@DerDanilo Thanks for the quick reply, brother!!! As for your question, the server backend is Seafile Server for Windows v6.0.7 running on a Windows Server 2012 VM (Hyper-V). Host machine has a Xeon E5-2620 and 32GB of ECC RAM and the VM has 6 virtual processors and 4GB RAM assigned to it.

Anything else you need?

If you run Windoof, give it more RAM, 8GB and watch the system via ressource monitor.

Did you check the logs?
Any antivurs running on the server?
What storage backend? (underlaying RAID etc)
What webserver? If IIS remove and use a nginx or at least apache proxy.
Make sure all are using the correct client version.

I strongly recommend that you use Linux if you want good results!

I have more than 200 users on my machine alone with a RAID 10 and 4 discs, no Cache. Works perfectly.
The hosts who holds my VM has about 16 Seafile hosts (Linux only) all with minimum 10 clients. Storage can be a bottleneck, but doesn’t always have to be as you see.

1 Like