2FA to control access per device

Hi all,

I am considering using Seafile for my (small) business. One thing that concerns me is access by employees from multiple devices. Ideally I would like to limit access to one device per user, or to any additional device I have personally authorized. Some research lead me to the conclusion that limiting access on per device basis is not possible in Seafile.

Now I was wondering if I could use 2FA to accomplish the same? Meaning, is it possible to configure 2FA such that the 2nd authorization step always requires my own intervention as an admin; so that someone can only login on a new device with my approval. (SMS OTP always coming on my phone number for example).

Also, if I set up a the seafile client on one PC, how often would I require login in with 2FA on that PC? Only once, and then only again once password or account changes? Or would it periodically ask to verify password + 2fa from time to time?

I’m not a security expert, so wait for reviews about my suggestions and ask more qualified people if possible.

This is a possibility. Afaik Seafile does not provide SMS OTP though but TOTP.
If you’re not familiar with the concept, let me summarize quickly:

• At 2FA setup, a secret will be given to you, a secret you share with the server.
  • With this secret, you can generate OTP which change like every 30 seconds (standard duration).
  • You usually manage all your secrets in an app on your phone, for example this one:

If you’re the only one who owns the secrets, you’re the only who can grant access to a new device. QED

Unfortunately, you’ll face some issues:

• Your users can disable 2FA from the Seahub web interface.
  • They can generate recovery codes from the same interface that are basically codes designed to be saved in a secure place in case of you lose your secret. But in your case, they just provide a way to your users to bypass your 2FA control.

But I see some workarounds: