Compilation of seafile-server 'make' command fails due to undefined reference

Hello everyone,

I’m trying to build the community seafile server on my ubuntu 18.04.
I’m following this manual download. seafile .com/published/seafile-manual/build_seafile/server.md, and the building of libsearpc and ccnet-server
work fine, but I get several ‘undefined reference’ errors when trying to run the ‘make’
command for the seafile-server (see picture below):
In 5 files, there is an undefined reference to ‘seaf_branch_manager_test_and_update_branch’.

I have very little C knowledge, but I tried to check whether the header files and such were correctly referenced, but I couldn’t find anything wrong there…

I’ve downloaded several versions (7.1.0, 7.1.1, 7.1.5), but all have that problem…
(I have tried to simply ignore it (and even commented out the references), but the building steps afterwards never worked then…)

I’d be very thankful if somebody could help me out! :slight_smile:

Kind Regards!

Hi @pieper1000 you can check the compilation script for raspberry pi (ARM arch.). You have to delete some specific ARM/rpi lines, but basically, the compilation is the same. Check the comments inline the script regarding of ccnet & seafile. The packaging version is not consistent to seafile-server.

What I don’t really catch is why you are compiling. Is not good enough the seafile version from seafile.com? The matrix show that Bionic is still supported.

Hey @jobenvil, thank you for your quick reply!
I already got the community version running, but as I’m trying to learn more about web development I feel like taking on this challenge! :smiley:

I’ve followed the steps of the rpi guide. The building also produced errors, but created the zipped source files.