Need to display a block popup when copying files outside Windows seadrive libraries

Hi.
Some windows11 people have lost files because they’ve copy them in the “root” folder on seadrive.
I reproduced the operation, and only a short and quick notification appear, saying “If you do that, the files will not be synchronised”.

But, impossible to find again the notification …

By the way, why let people do that ?

3 OS and 3 differents beharviors ..

  • on Linux, a popup appears with only cancel button, which is the right thing to do for me.
  • on MacOS, a popup appears with cancel and continue buttons …. why ?
  • on Win, a furtive notification appears, and the file is copied … too bad.

Is it possible to avoid copy files on the wrong location, like the seadrive linux way ?

I made screenshots about this … on linux, win11 and macOs.

Thanks a lot !! :slight_smile:

The implementations are different due to platform limitations on different OS. On Windows it’s hard to find a way to disallow creating files in root or category folders without affecting other functionalities. If we disallow it, creating category folders in root, or creating library folders in category folder will be affected.
So the current behavior is not something ad-hoc without thinking, but the best thing we can do within the tech limitation of the OS.

As for persistent errors, users can find the file sync errors from the SeaDrive icon menu in the system notification area. Whenever any file sync error happens, the SeaDrive icon will be marked with !.

Hi Jonathan,

Ok I understand, it’s clear. :+1:
Thanks for the explication.

Have a nice day :slight_smile: