I understand, you want the option for the admin to trigger the remote wipe too and the ability to say, after you revoke a share permission that this content (but just this) gets deleted on all client machines from the specific user. Right?
Just out of interest: what is the use-case behind this? As it’d be trivially easy to just copy the contents of the folder somewhere else regularly, remote wiping a desktop does not in any way at all ensure that somebody does not have access to files they previously had access to.
Is it sort of a ‘token’ gesture for legal reasons, or what?
my reason for this is that my user are not very familiar with IT. They think “there is a folder, so i can save something to it.”. Even if there is no green checkmark that ensures that it is synchronised.
We have around 90 user (next year >120) with about 160 libraries. It would realy help to have this kind of feature, to “clean” the clients. (Automatic synchronization would be another great feature)
Also our (i don’t know how it names in english) Data Protection guy would be happy to see something like this wipe funktion. (i know that the user can simply copy everything).
Yes, first of all it is a token gesture. On the other hand, as Andre said, it also helps non-IT people. Once they do not have access to a folder anymore (have been moved to another project, etc) the do not have the local copy there and it will not confuse them. Also we had users who did not notice they’ve been revoked access, have edited files in the local fodlers and wondered why others don’t see them.
@daniel.pan But the Drive client also does offline syncing, doesn’t it? What happens to those files that are synced?
Our users need offline access to the files, and also need this specific remote wiping ability. Even if the Drive client could do this, it will take some time to test it, have it deployed, etc.
As the wiping functionality is built into the client and the server already, it’s only a matter of some new “rules”. We’d really appreciate it and this could be deciding factor whether some of our clients change back to Dropbox.
I would say, especially companys need such features. If a user (employee) leaves the company and has used it’s own device to work with the data, you can get sure, that it gets deleted automatically. The next thing is if a users has lost his device (especially mobile phones), critical data can not get in wrong hands if the remote wipe was successful.
Of course a user could copy data somewhere else but there are also possibilities for the admin to prevent such things.
The user could also create screenshots on this mobile device from critical documents or cloud create share links or upload the data in this own library and create then a share link. And here Seafile has to protect the company’s data. For example, since the new seafile version, it is possible to create different rules for different users (Role based permission control). With this setting, you can prevent users form uploading own libraries or share content. This is the right way.