Seafile 7.1.5 in WSL1 (Server 2019) using Ubunto 20.04 - SeaHub not starting

Hello,

I am currently using the last available version of Seafile Server within a Windows infrastructure (Microsoft Server 2019). My main reason is that I have no experience in Linux administration.

For this reason I didn’t want to install the current version of Seafile Server 7.1.5 in a virtual machine, but use the WSL1 platform of Microsoft Server 2019 ( Windows Subsystem for Linux) to run Seafile Server within Ubuntu 20.04.

First I tried to implement Seafile Server 7.1.5 in combination with MySQL. There is a pretty good online manual (https://www.how2shout.com/linux/install-seafile-server-on-wsl-windows-10-subsystem-for-linux/) which is not completely free of errors but describes the procedure quite well. However, I failed in the last step: starting Seahub kept getting stuck because I was not able to create a Seafile Administrator with a password.

In the next step I first eliminated Ubuntu from the WSL1 platform and then set up a fresh Ubuntu 20.04 system in WSL1. In the hope to get ahead I tried to install a SQLite installation of Seafile Server 7.1.5. For this I used the official Seafile manual (https://download.seafile.com/published/seafile-manual/deploy/using_sqlite.md) as a guide.

The first problem resulted from the description in the manual how to install Python 2.7 and the modules depending on it - Ubuntu 20.04 only knows Python 3. So I tried a synthesis with the online manual. This appeared to be better and I already thought it’s done, but…:

====================================================
administrator@Thaide:/opt/seafile$ sudo bash seafile.sh start

[10/21/20 14:23:15] …/common/session.c(148): using config file /opt/conf/ccnet.conf
Starting seafile server, please wait …
** Message: 14:23:15.685: seafile-controller.c(572): No seafevents.

Seafile server started

Done.
administrator@Thaide:/opt/seafile$ sudo bash seahub.sh start