[SOLVED] New install with mariadb/mysql and 2nd drive; How to move data location?

Hello, all… I’m back after having suffered a major stroke back in 2019, which set me back on my current project. I am currently in the process of replacing my existing Seafile server which has a lot of age on it.

I have decided to start fresh. This time, I decided to start with mariadb for the database. However, the new server has a small SSD drive which is for boot purposes. I have a secondary hard drive mounted and that’s where I would like the repos/data to be stored.

I looked through the seafile mysql install script and it appeared that it would ask me to input the location for the seafile data… However, that did not happen and the data is set up to store on the SSD drive. Although I’m a veteran with Linux and Seafile, I know very little about database technology such as mariadb.

What I noted after installation is that there is no seafile.ini file where I can specify where the data folder is located. So, my question is, how do I change the location where the repos/data will be stored? In a mysql/mariadb situation, is the data location handled there and stored in a mysql/mariadb handled folder, or is it still stored in the seafile-data folder under the seafile install folder?

How would I go about changing the location to that second hard drive? I have only completed the install script and have not yet started seafile and seahub for the first time…

Thanks in advance.

Easiest and fastest way to solve this is by soft link. Just move the seafile-data folder to a new location and create a link using ln -s. Option 2 is indeed changing the path in ccnet/seafile.ini. Don’t know if seafile has to be started once to create the files and folders mentioned above.