New to Seafile (and networking in general)

I’ll be honest, I’m a complete noob.
I did manage to get Seafile installed i.e. the icon with the checkmark on the taskbar.

Right now, I’m trying to load the web UI per the setup instructions, and I’m getting no joy. I completely disabled Avast and Windows Firewall and still cannot seem to get through. Any help or a troubleshooting guide would be greatly appreciated.

Spent several hours trying to sort this out. I can’t figure out what is blocking Seafile’s web UI on port 8000. As far as I can tell the service is running fine.

I wanted to test a theory and installed XAMPP and learned that Apache is also being blocked by “PID-4” which is “System”. So, for now, I’m completely stumped.

Community Manuel , that’s why we created it.

Feeling somewhat cognitively insufficient to run your software, considering I see no mention of windows at all, considering a windows version of this software exists, which is what I am attempting to use.

Windows is not supported, if you decide to use it, you’re not going to get help. This is literally in the first page of the installation manual.

You are referring to an unofficial guide.

check if seahub works at http://localhost:8000

xampp is more than Seafile needs. Ngnix is easier in general.

Did you try to just follow the community manual? It’s a proven concept that others could follow and bring up Seafile in a few hours (from zero knowledge).

This is litterally the community manual. Hence it’s not our software, we are just happy users. :slight_smile:

It’s a community manual, not necessarily unofficial. it’s been pinned on the forums for a while now.

1 Like